Baby Data Analysts

Berkin | Read in 3 min.
3 min readOct 29, 2022

--

I think everyone is a data analyst

Okay, I am a bit excited since that’s my first writing about being a data analyst and the data world. I’ve thought about writing my experiences in the data world for a long time. Unfortunately, I always procrastinated until today. I’m so happy to be able to take a step finally. :)

I am starting my first post by saying something big: I think everyone is a kind of data analyst in “the company of their own life”.

All of us, as human beings, started our life being quick learners. We jumped into the data world as a natural result of main human characteristic. The main human characteristic mentioned is pure curiosity, which is also the main reason behind being a quick learner. The first time when we heard a word, saw a reaction, or observed a gesture from our parents is also the first time we met the data world.

There is a natural product that stores all data in our human data warehouse, which is called the brain. It’s our natural hardware and software. It can store, process, structure our data, and do even more.

After all the data we get from our parents and other external resources, our brain uses them for us to make a decision. If you notice a specific gesture makes your parents laugh, you probably prefer to keep making this gesture more. Since the data you have in your brain tells you:

“This gesture gave them happiness a bunch of times in the past, let’s try it again I know it works on my parents.” or it says other way around. At this moment, you become a data analyst in your own life company when you or your brain have a decision by using past data. Congrats on you baby data analyst :)

It’s just a simple example at the beginning of our life cycle. This example is coming up onto the table with some questions.

If everyone starts their life as a kind of data analyst when they take their first steps as a baby, why are most people putting extra effort into becoming a data analyst?

Let me give off a smell of my next writings with different questions since I am planning to keep writing my posts around these questions. What makes someone a data analyst? Why has the data concept been a trendy topic recently? Maybe we’ve just recognized being a data analyst is our nature and just started to combine this remarkable nature of human with the business world for making “our parents” happy. (⸮)

If you can read this post with pleasure until this point, I believe you will like my next posts. I’m planning to make it a writing series.

We can make a partnership through my next posts starting with this fresh one. No worries! I’m not talking about monetization bullshits. I am saying let’s make it more fun for both of us by building an interactive relationship between you and me. Never hesitate to share your comments and get in touch with me. :)

--

--